The Rising in the Sky

orionEvery morning, I follow the same routine.

Shut off the alarm clock.
Turn on the light.
Clamber down the steps.
Get a cup of coffee.

Savor the first sips of the steaming cup, draw back the dining room curtains, and look out at the stars.

And, just as predictable as my routine, every clear morning, a velvety-black, star-lit friend gazes back at me:

orion2.jpg

Orion.

The first constellation I ever learned.
Still one of the only constellations I can readily identify.

There’s something comforting about gazing out into the still, silent, pre-dawn hours and seeing Orion peering back at me.

Perhaps it’s childhood memories.
Perhaps it’s something more.

The name “Orion” means rising in the sky. The constellation itself portrays a great hunter of Greek mythological lore.

Majestic.
Constant.
Ancient.

And yet, for all its starry splendor, when I look our my window, I don’t just see Orion.
I see the One who created Orion.

Not just the majestic beauty of the universe,
but the One who is the Majesty of heaven.

Not just the constancy of the constellations,
But the Timeless One who inhabits eternity.

Not just an ancient Greek mythological legend,
But the Ancient of Days who yet rules in power and might.

The name Orion might mean rising in the sky,
but when I see his constellation, I think of another One who has risen in the sky.

The One who will one day return and rise again into the skies…
And we will rise with Him.

You. Me.
All believers.

Higher than Orion.
Higher than the heavens.

Into eternity, with Him, forever.

What a glorious day that will be!

“He made the Pleiades and Orion; He turns the shadow of death into morning And makes the day dark as night; He calls for the waters of the sea And pours them out on the face of the earth; The Lord is His name.” Amos 5:8 (NKJV)

Leave a Reply

