Lessons from a Streetcar

streetcar2

Routine.

We all have one: the day-in and day-out monotony that makes up the rhythms of everyday life.

The same alarm clock ring…
The same commute to work…
The same workday obligations…
The same evening TV shows…
The same nighttime rituals…
only to awake and repeat the cycle all over again with dawn’s first light.

It’s easy to take our routines for granted.

It’s easy for our routines to take us for granted.

I realized this particularly keenly during a recent long weekend away with friends.

As this small-town girl drank in the sights and sounds of the bustling, crowded city streets and subways,the words of G. K. Chesterton came whispering into my mind:

“We need [a] life of practical romance; the combination of something that is strange with something that is secure. We need so to view the world as to combine an idea of wonder and an idea of welcome. We need to be happy in this wonderland without once being merely comfortable.”
(G. K. Chesterton, “Orthodoxy,” pg. 2)

 

Such was my experience during this brief excursion.

The barrage of sights, sounds, and smells wafting from every direction overwhelmed the senses, but the presence of familiar friends transformed the chaos into something wonderful, almost magical…

When the foreign meets the familiar.
When the strange meets the secure.

Near the end of the second day of the trip, as the streetcar lurched relentlessly under my tired feet and the city of Toronto flashed by the dusty windows, I wondered:

What if this is what all of life was supposed to look like?
What if this is what my faith is supposed to look like?

A faith where the dichotomy of known and unknown,
comfortable and insecure,
strange and familiar,
collide into one glorious menagerie of sensation, emotion, spirit:
Life
And life abundantly.

As I laid in bed later that night, I realized that the unfamiliarity of the big city didn’t become more comfortable because I grew more cognizant of street names or directions, or more accustomed to the ceaseless noise and bustle of the downtown streets.

It became more comfortable because of the presence of those with whom I was traveling. 

Their camaraderie.
Their guidance.

Likewise, the life of faith, with its unknowns and pitfalls and insecurities, can, even its most overwhelming moments, become a place of comfort and confidence…
Not because of my intelligence or familiarity or logic,
but because of the Presence of the One who walks there with me.

With you.

Guiding,
Sharing,
Laughing,
Living.

Friendship is an amazing thing…
And the God of the universe desires to befriend you.

“No longer do I call you servants, for a servant does not know what his master is doing; but I have called you friends, for all things that I heard from My Father I have made known to you. John 15:15

Today, God is calling you and I into new experiences…
in life…
in faith…
into a daily character of practical romance.

Some routines in this life are unalterable.
But some routines are not.

As Walter Mitty famously states,
Adventure is out there!

With you and I.
With God.

I don’t want to miss a moment of it.

What about you?

“Lo, I am with you always, even to the very end of the age.” Matt. 28:20 

 

Leave a Reply

